At the Holidays

Mom and youngest grandson Michael at Thanksgiving 2013

Mom and youngest grandson Michael at Thanksgiving 2013

It’s been some time since my last post and I suspect it will be a while before I post again. I wanted to give folks a little update. Mom is still with us, although her language capabilities continue to deteriorate. She is becoming more incontinent and her time in our shared reality continues to diminish.

I spent time with her at a luncheon at her group home the day before Thanksgiving. She had just had an “accident.” She was more confused than usual and glassy-eyed. I asked the nurse manager if she had a fever. She didn’t. Her appetite, which is usually excellent, was poor. I asked for a urine culture to be taken.

Mom was able to join the rest of the family at my brother’s house on Thanksgiving Day. She was very confused, but her appetite was good and she recognized her grandchildren as family. I noted further UTI symptoms.

My suspicions regarding her infection were confirmed and Mom is being treated.

The moral of this story is no matter where you decide to place your loved one, make sure you can get there to visit on regular basis. Be observant, partner with the staff and say what’s on your mind. Hug your loved one; they’ll feel better, even if they can’t remember why. The emotional part of their brains continues to function long after the reasoning and memory areas are gone.

Have a wonderful holiday season and feel good about the difference you make in the lives of the people who need you most. See you in the New Year!

About traceysl

Digital Artist, creative technologist, problem-solving lover of life. Having cared for my mother, who died on April 14, 2015 after a long fight with dementia, I have refocused professionally to helping others through my experience. I have started a company called Grand Family Planning to provide unique Family Support Services. In this way, I share my knowledge and give meaning to the tragic turn of my parents' journey through the misery of dementia.
This entry was posted in aging, assisted living, caregiving, dementia, Family, life changes, long term care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

