The Warrior

The Warrior

A classic yoga pose, Warrior Two is the embodiment of assertiveness and strength

Yoga helps keep me flexible and “sane.” I attend a Monday night class regularly. At this point in my life, I am able to practice at home on my own, but the energy generated by a roomful of “yoginis” is pretty amazing. If you’ve never tried it, I highly recommend it.

One type of pose is called “The Warrior.” There are several different “warriors,” but they are all strong standing postures that project an assertive attitude. Assertion is what it’s all about for me these days, and while I’m no shrinking violet, there are times when I need to steel myself to face the bureaucracies that enable me to cope financially with the cost of my mother’s care. Warrior energy helps get me through it.

In a previous post, I spoke at length about my travails with Genworth. I had gotten so wrung out by the process, I finally wrote to Genworth’s acting CFO to describe my ordeal and ask if revelation of my situation to the media was something they could afford. I received a phone call in response to that letter.

Turns out, they HAVE been paying attention, and on further review, they realize they owe me MORE money than I thought. The bills they had been reviewing from last summer were being reconsidered because they realized they’d made a mistake in calculating my mother’s “elimination period.” This refers to the 100 day interval following the initial claim. Once a claim is deemed valid, 100 days after the claim is opened, the claimant qualifies for care in a facility. Before 100 days, they will only pay for in-home care. That was the route I had pursued for Mom, initially hiring caregivers to help out in my home until my ability to deal with her condition became untenable.

Mom’s journey was complicated exponentially by her contraction of a UTI, which I had previously described in some detail (start with “Jewish Mafia” and proceed to “Paste On A Happy Face“) which had her in five facilities over the course of three months.

I had long ago given up on ever being reimbursed for certain care my mother had received last year. But apparently Genworth had not, and they were apologizing, revisiting and promising to repay me for more of these expenses. I just had to resubmit one bill from the rehab facility Mom had been in (and ejected from) last June.

The woman who called me was sympathetic, kind and finally, imparting good news. And this was apparently due, at least in part, to my taking the initiative, being assertive and taking my case to another, higher level. I do appreciate Genworth’s willingness to hear my story and take corrective measures. I must give credit where it is due.

The moral of this story: when you feel beaten, don’t surrender. Breathe, regroup and take it to a higher level. You’ll feel better. And you may even be heard. Because an assertive warrior is impossible to knock down and very hard to resist.

About traceysl

Digital Artist, creative technologist, problem-solving lover of life. Having cared for my mother, who died on April 14, 2015 after a long fight with dementia, I have refocused professionally to helping others through my experience. I have started a company called Grand Family Planning to provide unique Family Support Services. In this way, I share my knowledge and give meaning to the tragic turn of my parents' journey through the misery of dementia.
This entry was posted in aging, assisted living, Family, long term care, long term care insurance, medical insurance, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

