Sweet Relief

I spent the entire week looking for, finding and signing up to get Mom situated in an Assisted Living apartment. When I walked into Emeritus at Wayne, the place was clearly different. The residents look alive and happy. The staff really comes across as caring in a genuine way. And I told them food was important, so they sent me home with meals for Mom and me two nights and she loved them. They had a one bedroom available for immediate occupancy and they gave me a deal on the first month at a Studio respite rate with no community fee. Mom’s long term care will pick up part of it, and when she becomes a “resident,” they pick up even more of it.

The day after I went on my tour, Mom had her appointment with her doctor to follow up on her injuries from her fall last week. He told her she needed physical therapy. I asked him if we could speak privately. I told him my plans and that she could have the needed physical therapy at Emeritus. He thought it was a great idea and he promptly filled out the paperwork and gave me what I needed to get her enrolled. His associate makes house calls there regularly, too, so there will be continuity in her health care.

I resolved to tell her today, Friday, and steeled myself for the worst. As I had hoped, she’s actually glad and looking forward to being in a more social setting. I told her about the physical therapy and how she’s resistant here, but would be more inclined to do the work in a more professional setting. She agreed and told me she’s been feeling guilty about interfering with our lives to such a high degree. I just smiled.

Well, I’ve got to go pack up her room. Tomorrow, we get the truck, empty the storage locker and bring most of her stuff to her new apartment. It’ll be a lot of work, but this is the last big push. Monday, I bring her in, get her settled  and start my own life anew. I can’t believe it’s almost here. Woo hoo!

About traceysl

Digital Artist, creative technologist, problem-solving lover of life. Having cared for my mother, who died on April 14, 2015 after a long fight with dementia, I have refocused professionally to helping others through my experience. I have started a company called Grand Family Planning to provide unique Family Support Services. In this way, I share my knowledge and give meaning to the tragic turn of my parents' journey through the misery of dementia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

