Mom’s “Visit”

Late Thursday afternoon, Mom’s new Exalon patches arrived and I applied one right away. She’d apparently been having a pretty good day, taking better care of her appearance than she has been. She ate well at dinner. She stayed up and watched “Gorillas In The Mist” with me until 10. (Lately, she’s been going to bed right after dinner).

This morning, we woke to significant snowfall. I wasn’t feeling well (my periods arrive with debilitating cramps and I have a mild sinus infection) and stayed in bed a little later than usual. When I rose, Mom was awake, dressed and clear-eyed.

Mom’s hired caregiver called. She was having problems getting out of her street (she lives on the other side of our mountainous town). I had postponed my appointments for the day and told her to stay safe at home.

All day today, Mom’s been a lot more like her old self. She put on makeup and styled her hair. She went down the stairs to answer the door and to search for cat treats for her furry grandson. She even offered to bring me beverages as I rested.

So here’s the question: what’s going on? Is this just the nature of the dementia beast? Could it be the medication? The vitamins and supplements I’ve been giving her? Better diet? Or maybe seeing me feeling poorly made her motherly impulses re-emerge?

When my Dad was in the throes of his dementia, he had brief periods of remarkable lucidity. I’d call these his “visits.” So today appears to be a “visit” from Mom. It would be nice if she could stick around for a while. It will be really interesting to see who shows up here tomorrow.

About traceysl

Digital Artist, creative technologist, problem-solving lover of life. Having cared for my mother, who died on April 14, 2015 after a long fight with dementia, I have refocused professionally to helping others through my experience. I have started a company called Grand Family Planning to provide unique Family Support Services. In this way, I share my knowledge and give meaning to the tragic turn of my parents' journey through the misery of dementia.
This entry was posted in aging, caregiving, dementia, life changes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

