Dementia is contagious

One of the most frustrating things about caring for someone with dementia is that they’re completely inconsistent. Sometimes, they actually do know what they’re talking about. Occasionally, you’ll be the one who inadvertently misplaces some sought-after object. You’re so busy trying to remember everything you need, everything THEY need and trying to keep yourself from punching anyone, it’s easy to become overwhelmed.

Over the weekend, Mom was commenting on our neighbor’s holiday display across the street. She remarked about how it kept changing. I assumed it was just the difference between the way the house looked by day and by night. Mom’s vision is pretty poor, and I tend to assume it’s her bad eye sight (combined with failing cognition). Then Bob went to the local liquor store and spoke to our neighbor who works there. He asked Bob how Mom was doing and the thing about Mom’s perception of their holiday display came up. He then told Bob that his sister did indeed change the display each day! Mom has time to stare out the window and observe little details. I don’t. She was absolutely correct!

Then, we were sitting and admiring our tree the first night it was up. As the lights flashed, I mentioned that we will probably be replacing our artificial tree with a new one. It still looks nice, but it drops a lot of flotsam (like a real tree). Mom asked if there were any restrictions on the type of tree would could have in “the apartment.” I reminded her that we owned our home and could do as we pleased in that regard. She remarked that the bank owned our home and I readily agreed with that assessment.

I found her glasses in the shower. Her missing plastic cup turned up under her bed. A bright pink shower cap I bought her was under a pile of other junk in one of her storage towers.

Then the supermarket calls to confirm my order and asks if there’s anything I’d like to add. Uhhhhhhh…

My head hurts, I’m tired and I have menstrual cramps. Can I PLEASE have a day off and get my brain back for my own personal use and amusement?

About traceysl

Digital Artist, creative technologist, problem-solving lover of life. Having cared for my mother, who died on April 14, 2015 after a long fight with dementia, I have refocused professionally to helping others through my experience. I have started a company called Grand Family Planning to provide unique Family Support Services. In this way, I share my knowledge and give meaning to the tragic turn of my parents' journey through the misery of dementia.
This entry was posted in aging, caregiving, dementia, life changes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia is contagious

  1. Beth says:

    Oh Tracey, this is beautiful. Yes, one day you will get your brain back, and it will be ever so much stronger (as will your heart) for the wonderful service you have offered to your mother. You’re great!

Leave a Reply

